The Problem with Writing about Sadomasochism … Using German Language

I tried. I still try. Really, really hard. Nonetheless, everytime I’m into improving my writing skills, reality bites: For me, it’s impossible to compose a delicate, filthy, serious, arousing story about sadomasochistic relationship, behaviour or lifestyle using German language. It. Just. Doesn’t. Work.

Gagged Fuckhole and Oh Look - Sperm!

Problem is: Most of the commonly used terms and definitions have an utterly gruesome German translation. For example:

‚… Slowly, steadily, she pushed the plug into my ass …‘ (strong expression, precise)

translates to

‚… Langsam, stetig, schob Sie mir den Analstöpsel [!] in den Arsch …‘ (I think English native speakers don’t realize just how silly the German word ‚Analstöpsel‘ is)

And when you start mixing languages, things get really arkward:

‚… Langsam, stetig, schob Sie mir den Plug in den Arsch …‘

I don’t get it. Sadomasochism isn’t some sort of ‚English phenomenon‘, isn’t it? It’s practiced worldwide. So why is it so hard to express such situations without ridiculing them?

Another path that can be taken is to use poetic or bombastic diction. But – here again – a huge problem arises: The more you use overblown words and phrases, the more filthiness is eliminated. And let’s be honest: Sadomasochism really IS a filthy issue.

Ringed Balls Fleshy

So, what to do? Switch to English and limit yourself to your knowledge of a foreign language (and the doubtful skills of Google Translator)? Or stay with German using English terms when needed, feeling that little itch everytime you have to?

As it seems, I will have to push my writing skills even further. Maybe someday, I WILL be able to write that delicate, filthy yet serious sadomasochistic story – Auf Deutsch.

5 Gedanken zu „The Problem with Writing about Sadomasochism … Using German Language

    1. Hehe. Wenn es um schreiben geht, suche ich immer die Herausforderung. In diesem Fall, über etwas schreiben, was man nicht selbst erlebt, vielleicht abstoßend findet, und es so auszuführen, dass der Leser es dennoch ‚für bare Münze nimmt‘ (ich verleugne jedoch nicht, mit dem Thema an und für sich zu kokettieren).

      Dein Englisch-Lob freut mich sehr, kosten mich solche Konstrukte doch immer Schweiß und Tränen. Die ‚Story-Graphik‘ weiter unten im Blog, die ja das gleiche Thema behandelt, habe ich bis heute nicht fertig übersetzt bekommen …

      Gefällt mir

  1. „Slowly, steadily, she pushed the plug into my ass …“

    Ich denke, den Satz kann man auch anders übersetzen.

    Langsam und gleichmäßig drückte sie mir den Plug in meinen Arsch.

    Plug ist ein eigenständiges Wort. Es sagt ja auch keiner „Stöpseln&Spielen“ auch wenn das hier eine ganz andere Bedeutung bekäme.

    Gefällt mir

    1. Hallo Lord Varg,

      und vielen Dank für deinen Kommentar.

      Natürlich ist ‚Plug‘ eine eigenständige Bezeichnung und kann auch entsprechend verwendet werden.

      In meinem Verständnis wird durch die Verwendung fremdsprachlicher Begriffe in deutschen Texten jedoch der Wortfluß massiv gestört. Wie geschrieben empfinde ich so etwas als unangenehm und störend.

      Zudem verliert ein solcher Text meinem Empfinden nach in seiner Aussage an ‚Ernsthaftigkeit‘.

      So hat eben jeder seinen ganz persönlichen Spleen …

      Gefällt mir

Schreibe einen Kommentar

